Personal Healthy Eating Challenge – Day 9

Today was a fairly long day as I worked for around 10 hours (got home around 6:30 pm).  I did fit in my usual smoothie for breakfast and also mustered up enough energy to make a dinner for myself and my boyfriend (I think he was feeling a bit left out with me making salads for myself for dinner for the past week or so).  Here was my day!

ORANGE AND BANANA SMOOTHIE

13177525_10156860159715237_3506568307588429549_n

Makes 1 serving

  • 1 orange, peeled
  • 1 fresh or frozen banana, peeled
  • 1/2 cup fresh or frozen strawberries*
  • 1 cup almond milk
* if you’re using fresh strawberries, I would add a few ice cubes to make the smoothie more chilled

Blend all ingredients in a blender and enjoy!

VEGGIE LASAGNE

Recipe from Grounded Nutrition

13165864_10156862319300237_4127982022058436583_n

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 package gluten free lasagne noodles, cooked and rinsed in cold water
  • 2 jars organic pasta sauce or 4 cups home made sauce*
  • 100 grams sliced mushrooms
  • 2 cups cashew ricotta
  • cherry tomatoes, sliced
  • spinach
  • basil (optional)
* I only ended up using 1 jar of pasta sauce, so it really depends on how much you want to use

CASHEW RICOTTA INGREDIENTS

  • 1.5 cups raw cashews, soaked*
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 1 tbsp nutritional yeast**
  • 1 garlic clove
  • dash of onion powder
  • Himalayan salt and cracked black pepper, to taste
* I soaked my cashews in hot water for about 5-10 minutes
** You should be able to find nutritional (aka food) yeast in any grocery store.  Make sure you don’t skip this ingredient as it gives things a cheesy flavour!

Combine ricotta ingredients in a blender or food processor and blend until smooth.  Cook and drain lasagne noodles.  Add a spoonful (or more!) of tomato sauce to a 9 x 11 baking dish* to coat the bottom.  Lay out noodles to cover the bottom of the dish.  Spread layer of cashew ricotta to cover noodles.  Add sliced mushrooms, tomatoes and spinach to noodles.**  Continue layering until all your ingredients are used up.  Bake at 350F for 30 minutes.  Top with leftover ricotta and basil, and enjoy! 🙂

* I used a 9 x 13 baking dish and it worked just fine
** You can add any veggies you like really.  I also added red pepper and zucchini and they were delicious!

Happy Hump Day to you all!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

