Personal Healthy Eating Challenge – Day 6

Back on track today…yes!  Sundays are my favourite day of the week.  I get to sleep in later than during the week plus I try not to have too many things planned (besides ‘around the house’ kind of stuff).  It’s kind of my recharge day.  So here was my smoothie and salad for today!

PINEAPPLE POWER UP SMOOTHIE

** I didn’t think I’d be into the cucumber in this smoothie, but it actually made it quite refreshing! **

13173725_10156850627500237_7674182866769817653_n

Makes 1 serving

  • 1 cup frozen pineapple
  • 2/3 cup frozen mixed berries
  • 1/4 lemon, juiced
  • 1 tbsp pure maple syrup or a few drops of liquid stevia
  • 1/2 long english cucumber
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 2 cups filtered water

Combine all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth and creamy.

LIME CHILI CORIANDER SALAD

** I found the chillies in this one a bit too spicy (and I love spicy!), but it’s really up to you! **

13124603_10156852517020237_8072459344729335840_n

Makes 1 serving

Salad

  • 1 medium red pepper, ends, core & seeds removed & finely sliced
  • ¼ medium cucumber, thinly sliced with vegetable peeler (might discard skin slices)
  • 1 large handful of baby leaf spinach, chopped*
  • 1 handful sugar snap peas, ends & strings removed & cut in half
  • ½ cup Fresh Edamame Beans
  • 1 medium Red Chili, ends removed, seeded & finely sliced
  • 1 handful whole almonds, coarsely chopped**
  • 1 large handful of mixed seeds
  • 1 generous pinch Himalayan pink rock salt
* I used romaine hearts instead of spinach, just because I didn’t have a ton of spinach on hand
** I used my small food processor to chop up the whole almonds I had

Dressing

  • 1 medium red chili, ends removed, seeded & cut in half
  • 1 small handful coriander (aka cilantro)
  • 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 2 ½ tbsp cold pressed extra virgin olive oil
  • ½ fresh lime

Place all dressing ingredients in container of a hand blender, squeezing the lime juice directly into the container. Blitz for 10-20 seconds

Place prepared almonds, mixed seeds & salt in oven safe baking dish. Bake for 5 minutes (I had the stove set to 400F). Put all the ingredients in a bowl & toss with dressing.

Happy almost Monday! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

