Personal Healthy Eating Challenge – Day 4.5

Well, I’m counting today as a half day in my week challenge.  And I’m ok with that decision.  I did have my smoothie for breakfast and leftover salad from last night for lunch, but I took the night off.  It is Friday, right? 🙂  I did have a veggie noodle dish and shrimp from a take out place for dinner.  Always have to look for healthier options if and when you do order from a restaurant.  So here is the half day of my challenge.

STRAWBERRY DREAM SMOOTHIE

** I was excited about this one as I love strawberries, but I found that there was too much spinach taste and not enough strawberry taste (and colour, as you can see from the picture!).  So I would suggest that you play around with the measurements a bit. **

13130958_10156842226025237_7245807495834091496_o

Makes 1 serving

  • 1 cup fresh or frozen strawberries
  • 1-2 medjool dates, pitted*
  • 1.5 cups filtered water
  • 1 cup almond milk or homemade orange juice
  • 1-2 ripe spotty bananas, peeled and frozen**
  • 2 cups spinach or kale
* if the dates are hard, soak them in hot water for awhile before adding them to the blender
** you can use any bananas really; they don’t have to be ‘spotty’

Combine all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth and creamy

I hope you’re enjoying your Friday!  Remember, it’s ok to take a ‘break’ every now and then…and don’t be hard on yourself for it!

Leave a Reply

