The More You Know

So you know how these days you can literally binge watch an entire series, minus the commercials and waiting a week for the next episode like you had to do in the ‘old days’?  It’s pretty sweet.  It can be good stress relief to get lost in the stories for awhile.  But it can also be easy to spend too much time on these shows.  I have definitely been guilty of this.  In an effort to counteract the binge sessions, I have been watching some of the amazing documentaries that are out there.  Some of the recent ones I’ve watched are Hungry for Change and Vegucated (both of which I would highly recommend!).  It’s crazy how watching the documentaries and soaking up the information truly invigorates me.  It really gets me pumped for watching and learning more and also for sharing with others.

So if you are signed up for Netflix or Shomi (if you’re not, why the heck not for around $8/month each???), or if you have cable and are able to PVR things, I would highly recommend that you watch a documentary that interests you.  Maybe between seasons of a show that you’re watching to begin with.  Then try to watch more and more, whenever you can fit them in.  I am definitely drawn to the documentaries about nutrition and the food industry the most, but my goal is to expand my focus to things I may not be initially interested in.  It’s important to be as well rounded as possible, right?

Children of the 80’s and 90’s may remember the infamous ‘The More You Know’ rainbow ad on t.v. from PSA’s back then.  As cheesy as it was, it still holds up today.  Knowledge truly is power.  I challenge you to watch at least 1 documentary this week and see how empowered you feel afterwards.

Happy Friday!

 

 

Leave a Reply

