The Morning After

All Hallows’ Eve has come to an end for another year.  Though not my personal favourite holiday, many people tend to overindulge in multiple ways during the festivities.  Something that tends to rear its ugly head ‘the morning after’ said festivities is guilt.  ‘Why did I drink so much alcohol?’…’Why did I eat so much junk food?’…’Why did I stay up so late?’…’Why did I say those crazy things that hurt that person?’…etc.  Sound familiar???

You’re not alone.  We’ve all felt this way at one time or another (myself definitely included!).  The good news?  Every day is a brand new day; a day that we can continue to strive to be our best selves, no matter how the day before turned out.  Really let that marinate for a minute.  EVERY DAY IS A DO-OVER.  No matter what happened the day/week/month/year before, you have another chance every single day.  Doesn’t that feel so freeing and empowering?!?!  It definitely does to me!

One thing that we all really need to consciously work on is how we think about and towards ourselves.  I know, I know…’love yourself’ is pretty cliche.  No matter how cheesy it sounds, how you think about and treat yourself is so important.  For example, waking up today and thinking ‘I can’t believe I ate so much junk last night.  I’m so weak.  I was doing so well and then I just ruined it all in one night.  Why can’t I do anything right…’ just leads you down an unproductive path of negativity and self-loathing.  In contrast, imagine if you were to wake up today thinking ‘I can’t believe I ate so much junk last night.  Well, it happened.  I slipped.  These things happen sometimes.  I’m just going to dust myself off and start fresh today.  Let’s get going on that water to flush things out and a smoothie to get things back on track.  Today is a new day.’  Don’t the latter thoughts make you feel so much better and more positive, even just reading the words in this blog?

Let’s make a concerted effort to be kind to ourselves.  We have to live with ourselves for 80+ years, so can’t we just get along?!  Try it out for yourself and notice the many positive things that WILL happen as a result.  Feel free to leave me a comment and let me know what happens for you personally as a result of the kindness that you show yourself!

12191516_986871731354915_8570048069605678500_n (2)

Leave a Reply

